August 14, 1971

The separation of Bahrain from Iran





Bahrain, located in the Southern Persian Gulf, was under Iranian rule till the early Qajar reign, but after some years, the Britishers, under the pretext of Iran’s lack of Navy, took control of the security of Persian Gulf and Bahrain under an agreement with Iran. This rule that prolonged for more than 150 years was later continuously protested by Iranian governments, but always in vain. When Iran called Bahrain its 14th province in its new administrative divisions on 1957, a wave of protests was provoked in Arab countries. Meanwhile, Iranian Shah who didn’t want to lose Arab states’ supports and on the other hand was seeking a remedy to consolidate Iranian sovereignty over other islands of Persian Gulf inclusive of Abu Musa, Greater Tunb and Lesser Tunb suddenly declared his decision to abandon Iranian ancient claim of sovereignty over Bahrain and in return called for mediation of the UN Secretary General in this regard. Hence, the UN Security Council adopted a resolution on May 11, 1970, in line with the report of its delegation to Bahrain that an overwhelming majority of the people wished recognition of Bahrain's identity as a fully independent and sovereign state. Iranian Majlis approved the articles of resolution on May 14. Prior to formal declaration of Bahrain’s independence, Iranian delegation of goodwill was dispatched to Bahrain and in return some Bahraini envoys arrived Iran, as well. Eventually this energy-rich strategic island formally declared its independence on August 15, 1971, and interestingly, Iran was the first to recognize it.

Event code : 290



  • Full Name: *
  • Cell Phone:
  • Email: *
  • Newsletter Groups: *